Welcome to KleenKuip.com's Professional Carpet Cleaners Discussion Forum!

Carpet Cleaning Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Carpet Cleaners Discussion > Carpet Cleaners Hangout
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Commercial Floor Cleaning Machines

Can NOT get rid of that smell, help!

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dirtycarpet Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Can NOT get rid of that smell, help!
    Posted: 23/October/2005 at 9:47pm

I hope I'm not intruding here, looks like a great discussion forum!  I'm not a professional carpet cleaner but I am in need of help!

We have a 5' circular rug we purchased from Pottery Barn Outlet.  As such it is not returnable.  It looked clean at the store and seemed fine.  When we got it home, we noticed a "smell" that the only way can be descibed is that it smells like RUBBER.  Yes, that's right, the rug smells like rubber.  Almost like "burnt rubber".  I really can't think of anything else.

The rug is very similar to this: http://ww2.potterybarnkids.com//cat/pip.cfm?src=schp1%7Ct4%7 Cv0%7Cwalphabet%5Cssoup%2Fhme&pkey=xsrd0n1%7C16%7C1%7C%7 C%7C%7C%7C%7Calphabet%20soup&gids=k4082&cmsrc=kwd

We have vaccumed it several times, deep cleaned it with carpet cleaner, let it sit in the sun for 3 days on 3 separate occaisions, hosed it down twice, and no matter what we do to this rug, we can not get rid of this rubber smell.  It seems to be coming from the backing on the throw rug.

The smell is so bad that we don't want to use it in our baby's room anymore.  With the door closed when you go in the room there is this rubber smell everywhere which is obviously not something we want our infant inhaleing on a regular basis.